//
you're reading...
real life

DON’T FORGET TO LEAVE A LASTING IMPRESSION

sandThe first time I ever stood to address a crowd will ever remain fresh on my mind, it was the day I decided to sing in church. I had taken days to prepare in order to boast my confidence when I will finally get on the stage, but as soon as I got the microphone that day everything I had prepared to say disappeared from my head so I went straight to the song with my eyes closed I sang as if a gun was pointed at my head and I could feel myself shivering including my voice and at some point I forgot my lyrics, of a truth it was a not too good first impression.
There are two things about you that people will never forget, your words and actions so what we say and do is what gives all the meaning to our life because they are either used against or for us. So the big question is what have you said and done? What are you saying and doing and what will you do and say? Life is not all about our words and actions but it is also about our silence and in-actions because in as much as there are consequences attached to our words and actions sometimes our silence and our inaction is used to judge us. I have seen people rewarded for what they did or said and I have also seen people rewarded because of their silence and inaction, on the other hand I have seen many punished because of what they said and did and I have also seen many who were punished because of their silence and inaction.
Words and actions or silence and in-actions, at the end of the day we leave an impression behind. I believe in making a good first impression because just like it is said you won’t have another opportunity to make a first impression but I also believe in making a lasting impression and to say the least a good first impression is nothing compared to a good lasting impression. It is one thing to be your best and another to keep bettering your best so a good first impression is important but not the main stuff because you may not have another chance to make a good first impression but you will definitely have other opportunities to create a lasting impression.
Moreover, today is no longer about what you did and said but what you are doing and saying and by tomorrow it will be about what you will be doing and saying, so what happens after making a good first impression is that you are expected to do better but if you by happenstance didn’t make a good first impression that shouldn’t make you brand yourself a failure but should make you sit down and repackage yourself because you get better as you improve. Therefore every opportunity we have is a platform to creating a lasting impression, so do everything to be at your best because not everyone so good in what they are doing today had a good first impression so for once let us stop building a name, organizations and doing things to impress the society and start thinking of things that will impress generations to come.

About itycharles

There is so much to tell about me but unfortunately i know just little about myself because everyday i keep discovering who i am and who i am not hence i wake up in the morning ready to be who ever i am.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “DON’T FORGET TO LEAVE A LASTING IMPRESSION

  1. i agree. Better to try and fail then to not try at all.

    Posted by mkesling63 | October 13, 2013, 1:10 am

Leave a Reply

